

## Riverside County Special Education Local Plan Area Coordinating Council

# AGENDA

November 12, 2021 9:00 a.m.

### Riverside County SELPA 2935 Indian Ave. Perris, CA 92571

Palo Verde USD 825 North Lovekin Blvd. Blythe, CA 92225

Hemet USD 1791 W. Acacia Ave. Hemet, CA 92545 Room #412

Remote Meeting Locations: Murrieta Valley USD e. 41831 McAlby Court Murrieta, CA Room #201

Santa Rosa Academy 27587 La Piedra Rd. Menifee, CA 92584

#### **Coordinating Council Agreements**

Respect group's time Be present and fully engage with presenter Respect confidentiality to ensure open dialogue that promotes participation Respect individual member's ideas Maintain a welcoming environment that is supportive of all members and promotes levity

#### **Coordinating Council Members**

Paulina Nwuba Barbara Wolford Gaby Toledo Jessica Houpt Gregory Sackos Charity Plaxton-Hennings Robert Broecker Karina Becerra-Murillo, Zone 4 Representative Donna Wolter, Zone 1 Representative Santos Campos Julie Hong Zhanna Preston, Past Chair Jennie Kosters-Labriola Alvord Unified School District Banning Unified School District Beaumont Unified School District Coachella Valley Unified School District Desert Center Unified School District Desert Sands Unified School District Hemet Unified School District Jurupa Unified School District Lake Elsinore Unified School District Leadership Military Academy Menifee Union School District Murrieta Valley Unified School District Nuview Union School District

Victoria Parkinson, Vice Chair & Zone 5 Representative Palm Springs Unified School District

Edward Singh, Zone 6 Representative	Palo Verde Unified School District
Michelle Ruffolo	Perris Elementary School District
Amil Alzubaidi	Perris Union High School District
Pam Bender, Standing Member	Riverside County Office of Education
Carmen Kaas, Zone 3 Representative	Romoland School District
Alex Gonzalez, Fiscal Liaison & Zone 2 Representativ	eSan Jacinto Unified School District
Anastasia Bradshaw, Charter Representative	Santa Rosa Academy
Gina Corby-Potter	SCALE Academy
Courtney Cook	Springs Charter Schools
Jeff Janis, Chair	Val Verde Unified School District

#### **Riverside County SELPA Team Members**

Leah Davis, Executive Director Jeremy Stevens, ERMHS Coordinator Yazan Khoury, ERMHS Case Manager Kellie Kaukani, PL&D Coordinator Jordan Hulstrom,SELPA Coordinator Christa Smith, SELPA Coordinator Chad Petties, ERMHS Case Manager

#### 1. Call to Order

Jeff Janis, Coordinating Council Chair

The Coordinating Council Meeting was called to order at \_\_\_\_\_\_ on Friday, Nov 12, 2021.

#### 2. Welcome and Introductions

Leah Davis, RC SELPA Executive Director

#### **Public Comments**

Pursuant to Government Code Section 54954.3 and Education Code Section 35145.5, any person wishing to speak to any item on the agenda, or any other relevant matter, will be heard at this time. Each person will have a maximum of three (3) minutes to address the Coordinating Council. Public Comment may be made in person at the Riverside County SELPA Office or at any of the remote locations noted above.

#### Action Items

- 3. Approve Minutes from October 8, 2021 Coordinating Council Meeting (Attachment 3)
- **4. Approve RC SELPA Low Incidence Policy, Procedures and Guidelines** (Attachment 4) Christa Smith, Coordinator
- 5. Approve RC SELPA Interim Placement Procedures (Attachment 5) Christa Smith, Coordinator
- 6. Approve RC SELPA Interim Placement Form 21 (Attachment 6) Christa Smith, Coordinator
- **7. Approve RC SELPA Program Guidance for Speech Language Pathologists** (Attachment 7) Christa Smith, Coordinator
- 8. Approve RC SELPA Best Practices in Special Education Evaluation (Attachment 8) Christa Smith, Coordinator

**Discussion Items** 

- 9. Updates from Community Advisory Committee Jordan Hulstrom, Coordinator
- 10. Compliance Monitoring Activities Leah Davis, Executive Director
  - a. Targeted and Intensive Review
  - b. Data Identified Non-Compliance (DINC)
  - c. Significant Disproportionality (SIG DIS)

Information Items

11. Riverside County SELPA Personnel Updates - Leah Davis, Executive Director

Adjournment